Irish Mythology | Brigid, Queen of Imbolc

Celtic mythology is fascinating, but to me, the Irish strand of it stand out for the unsually high esteem in which the Irish held women and the degree of social recognition women were able to achieve in pre-Christian Ireland (where they could even be judges). Why Christianity turned into such a repressive patriarchal cult is a bit of a mystery, given some of the obviously strong and highly regarded women characters in the Old Testament (Deborah, for intance).

aliisaacstoryteller

St Brigid's Well, Lisnabantry, Co Cavan. St Brigid’s Well, Lisnabantry, Co Cavan.

It was a really cold day. Drifts of snow lay on the ground, and frost iced the branches of trees and blades of grass with sparkling fairy dust. I decided to mark the festival of Imbolc by visiting St Brigid’s Well at Lisnabantry, about 5 minutes drive from where I live.

It is situated on the edge of bogland, near a very ancient looking cemetery called Roffney Burial Ground. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found. It was well looked after, and clearly quite recently visited, as you can see from the pictures; there was evidence of many candles having been lit, and gifts had been left for Brigid.

It was a very peaceful place, in lovely, quiet countryside. I said my bit to Brigid, swirled my hand in the bone-chilling water, and turned to leave. It was only then that I noticed…

View original post 921 more words

Published by

Vaska

https://vaskaxtumir.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/my-inaugural-page-2/

Leave a Reply

